Telecommunications Division

The Telecommunications Division maintains limited jurisdiction over the regulation of telephone service providers in the State of Alabama. Utilities that fall under the Commission’s jurisdiction include; Incumbent Local Exchange Carriers (ILECs) - the traditional providers of local telephone service; Competitive Local Exchange Carriers (CLECs); Interexchange Carriers (IXCs); Long Distance Service Resellers (Toll); Payphone Service Providers (PSPs); and Shared Tenant Telephone Service (STS) providers. The Commission does not have jurisdiction over cable television, Internet Service, Voice Over Internet Protocol (VOIP) phone service, or cellular telephone service.

The passage of the Communications Reform Act of 2005 curtailed the Commission’s authority over prices for telecommunication services. In 2009 the Alabama Legislature amended the Communications Reform Act to deregulate most retail telecommunication services by January 2011. The Commission retains authority over all telephone companies for Emergency Reporting Services, access service and intercompany wholesale pricing. The Commission also retains authority over payphone service and inmate telecommunication services. The 2009 amendment to the Communication Reform Act also provided the Commission with additional obligations regarding Lifeline Services.

The Telecommunication Staff’s other duties include: participation in certification hearings for new telecommunications service providers; review and analysis of tariffs and intercompany wholesale agreements for which we retain jurisdiction; review of service quality performance; numbering resources management; maintain procedures regarding Third Party Providers; and recommending actions regarding telecommunication policy and rules to the Commission.

The Division is comprised of two primary sections: the Economic Compliance Section and the Service Compliance Section.